McIlroy blunder costs him the lead

Thorbjørn Olesen overtook round one leader Rory McIlroy as the Northern Irishman incurred a two stroke penalty at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship.

Just off the green in two, McIlroy made the mistake of brushing away sand that was not on the putting surface and the penalty was imposed. ( You can brush away sand that is on the green but not off it. )

Joint overnight leader with Swede Robert Karlsson, the US Open Champion had come back from a bad start with three birdies when his rules error came on the ninth hole.

The World Number Three also had a double bogey on the third and did well to avoid another on the 11th, but six birdies kept him in the chase for the title going into the weekend.

Comments are closed.